Unforgivable Youth – Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? Episode One

I can't forgive them for doing this.

Three kids with some unusual gifts find themselves whisked away to a magical land. Sounds pretty typical, doesn’t? What if I told you they’re all a bunch of jerks? Seriously, could you find a cast more terrible? I take a dive down the rabbit hole and see what in the world is up with these problem children.

The first half of this episode starts off rough. We’re presented with the world of the Little Garden and the Gift Games through some pretty overbearing exposition. I kind of wished they spread the information out throughout the episode. It’s like having to go through the tutorial in a video game and no option to skip ahead.

Sakamaki Izayoi - What's with the headphones

Sakamaki Izayoi is the first character introduced, and I find it incredibly hard to like this guy. He’s presented as incredibly powerful whose quite a jerk, along with a host of other undesirable traits. He does however score both of the Gift Game wins in this episode though. The first win is with the card game against Kurousagi. The second being against the Water Dragon God. We also see a brief flashback in the Water dragon battle that appears to be possibly his mother?  Who knows. Also, what’s with his headphones? They already got dunked in water twice, why is he still wearing them?

Kudou Asuka commands it!

Kudou Asuka is the resident ojou-sama type character. Not only does she have it made financially, she also commands people and animals at will. Pretty crazy stuff.  Commanding birds to take Kurousagi down? Between her and Izayoi I feel like they’re nearly unstoppable. This looks like Sarah Emi Bridcut’s first anime role, and she plays the tsundere ojou-sama quite well. I hope to see her in more work.

Kasukabe You's cat hitting on a cat-girl. He's a smooth talker.

The odd one in the group has to be Kasukabe You. There is already two people with extremely powerful gifts, but her ability is that she can talk to animals? What is she, Eliza Thornberry? I feel like there’s more to her abilities than just that, but it’s hard to tell. She’s also voiced by Nakajima Megumi, who you may remember playing Ranka Lee of Macross Frontier. It’s a real treat to hear her voice again. I can’t forget her cat, who steals the show by hitting on a cat-girl. Seriously, that was awesome. The cat’s expressions throughout this episode were a highlight.

Kurousagi powered up! \o/

I’ll be honest, I’m sticking with this show because of Kurousagi. Bunny girls are a highlight for me, and she happens to be incredibly adorable. She’s delightfully cheery and her facial expressions are a delight. Kurousagi’s a real mystery though. Her intentions for bringing the three to this world aren’t clear. Her transformation is curious and I have to wonder what abilities she possesses.

It’s a rough start for this show, but I think there’s some promise. Showing that these characters are powerful from the very beginning, I wonder if there’s a limit to their abilities? On the other hand, they might be facing even more powerful enemies. The OP was played at the end of this first episode, and there’s a lot of foreshadowing of some tougher opponents. We’ll have to wait and see.

7 thoughts on “Unforgivable Youth – Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? Episode One

  1. foshizzel

    This is your typical people sent from another world to help the local people out, but since each character has a special power I sort of like that because I am a huge sucker for the whole teens with awesome powers idea. That said I do feel like Izayoi is way to powerful for his own good or is he? Who knows maybe that water dragon was really weak? As for Asuka I suppose having command over everything might be nice if she can use that power against monsters. I think You’s power to talk to animals is the weakest out of the main three, but we really haven’t seen if their abilities have any real limits…

    I am in it for Kurousagi too! She is awesome and I love her voice actor Iori Nomizu From Kore wa zombie, also she sings the openings for the two seasons of Kore wa zombie and now with this series as well, but I like to hear Nakajima Megumi! That is also a great treat, but I sort of wish she was voicing a villain because I find those roles to be more interesting with a cute voice actress ❤

    Nice first post! I should have one coming out soon I did another short podcast thingy~

    Reply
    1. Sabas Post author

      I hope they explain the distinction between the various races and dieties. This was a really weak water dragon and they call him a god? Really odd. I would imagine between the three of them, they should equal each other in ability. I hope to find out in the next episode if that’s true or not.

      I admit, I haven’t seen Kore wa Zombie. But I really liked her character in Seitokai no Ichizon. And cute voice actresses playing villains? Sign me up.

      Thanks for leaving a comment! Enjoying your podcasts so far. 🙂

      Reply
      1. foshizzel

        Agreed I hope we learn more about the world and the various types of creatures running around, but at the same time I really hope there are powerful monsters that give our main cast a run for their money.

        Ooooh Kore wa zombie is a fun trip and season two is only 10 episodes.

        You are welcome and thanks! It’s fun to try some new things ;D

        Reply
  2. nazarielle

    While it was kinda slow, I didn’t really mind that much. Maybe it’s because it was Kurousagi doing the explaining. I really expected to hate her, since I’ve mostly disliked Nomizu Iori’s big roles, but she’s really delightful when she’s not playing a loli.

    Kudou Asuka reminds me so much of Tohsaka Rin. I’m really interested to see what her powers are and what she can do. She’s seen in a dress wielding a sword in the OP, so I can’t even begin to guess what else she can do besides the powers of suggestion she’s shown.

    I think my biggest concern for this is that it has the potential to devolve into really terrible shounen cliches. It also seems to be trying to portray Izayoi as the strongest. I hope this doesn’t mean that as the going gets tougher, the girls will be pushed to the background and/or rendered useless damsels in distress that Izayoi has to save. So far the girls seems to be rather strong and self-sufficient, but we’ll see how long that lasts.

    As long as there’s lots of lovely Kurousagi, it’s all good~

    Reply
    1. Sabas Post author

      Not a big fan of her roles? I’m only really familiar with her character in Seitokai no Ichizon. Haven’t seen Kore wa Zombie or Sora no Otoshimono yet.

      Asuka seems to have a variety of abilities. Hoping we see what she’s capable of in the next episode.

      Shounen cliches are the worst. I think Izayoi appears to be stronger, but I’m hoping that the enemies they encounter are varied enough that each of the protagonists get to shine.

      Kurousagi is wonderful. 🙂

      Reply
      1. nazarielle

        The two main ones that I’ve seen her in were KoreZombie (Haruka) and Sora no Otoshimono (Nymph). Haruka was obnoxious as hell, and Nymph was only marginally better. She was also in Omamori Himari, which I only watched a few episodes of, but her character in there was completely forgettable. I haven’t watched the new Seitokai no Ichizon, but even if she was ok as Mafuyu I’d still probably prefer the old Mafuyu just because I was used to her.
        But the voice she’s using as Kurousagi is completely different from the higher pitched and annoying voice she used as Haruka/Nymph, which was a pleasant surprise for me. I didn’t think she’d have such a good range to be able to change from her ‘loli’ voice.

        Reply
  3. Pingback: Fly! – Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? Episode 02 | Anime Audiolog

Leave a Reply

