Quick Thoughts–Samurai Flamenco

[HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_15_53-00078

Samurai Flamenco, why must you taunt us so? All the mystery, all the suspense in the weeks leading up to this. A sense of excitement fluttered around your name.  And within minutes of starting the episode, you immediately make me go “What the hell?”.

I know, I know. The director is the same guy that did Baccano! and Durarara! He has a way with twisting and interconnecting plots, much like a Guy Ritchie movie. I like that. So, I’m going to cut some slack here, because this first episode fell a bit flat.

It really wasn’t that bad. First off, it was well animated. Unlike some other shows, there wasn’t any sloppy CG. Granted, that’s not saying much consider quite a few of the shows this season have made a mess of the CG they’ve used. This show keeps it simple, and for that I’m appreciative.

And I’m all in on the setting. This isn’t a high school harem romantic comedy cliché. We have adult characters, with real jobs, and (somewhat) real problems. I would kill to have more anime with this kind of backdrop. I understand that high schools have a cultural significance in Japan. But, in my humble opinion, there could be a few more shows with characters and settings with an +18 age group.

Where things fell short was dialogue. I didn’t laugh. I know that some of the conversations and situations were supposed to make me laugh, but I didn’t find it funny. I actually felt sorry for the Goto Hidenoro, that get’s sucked into this stranger’s delusional lifestyle. Maybe that was the point, but I definitely get the feeling I was supposed to be laughing at different points in the show.

I have this gut feeling that Flamenco is holding out; that there’s a great goal coming (simply based on the OP/ED). This show is definitely not an immediate drop for me. But with the limited episode count for Noitamina, the pace is going to have to pick up if it’s going to make an impact. But, I’m definitely going to see this one through to the end. I’m thinking I’ll miss out if I don’t.

[HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_00_58-00014 [HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_02_17-00017 [HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_04_30-00022
[HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_07_25-00038 [HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_13_15-00068 [HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_19_38-00098
[HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_22_32-00104 [HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_21_33-00100 [HorribleSubs] Samurai Flamenco - 01 [720p].mkv-00_09_46-00047

One thought on “Quick Thoughts–Samurai Flamenco

  1. megaroad1

    Never in all my years of watching anime, has a first episode been more different to the expectations I had of it beforehand. I don’t know why I was expecting some form of mecha show with multiple plots and a non-linear storyline. The teasers and posters were quite misleading IMO.

    Like you, I appreciated the fact that the MC’s are not your typical high schoolers, but the story/dialogue really has to improve a lot to keep people interested in this one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

