Quick Thoughts–Log Horizon and Strike the Blood

[CR] Log Horizon - 01 [1280x720].mkv-00_03_32-00011

Two shows that will feed my need for mindless shonen action are Log Horizon and Strike the Blood. Log Horizon brings us back to the gaming world, while Strike the Blood gives us our fantasy action series. But can either be more than what we see on the surface?

Log Horizon

Trapped inside a MMORPG, a group of players band together to explore and conquer their new world. But is Log Horizon better than Sword Art Online? Marginally, if that. This first episode wasn’t all that great. The characters are flat, the premise tired, and the clichés a bit overdone. Add to it only average animation, and this first episode left something to be desired. In comparison to SAO, I do like the characters a bit more. Rather than the lone wolf, we’ll get a team dynamic to watch. and thankfully, it looks like we wont be getting a harem end anytime soon.

While it didn’t wow me with a first episode, it has a chance at being interesting. I know nothing of it’s light novel background, so I’m going into this cold turkey. It’ll get a three episode chance with me, but it’s looking like it’ll be on my cut list soon enough.

[CR] Log Horizon - 01 [1280x720].mkv-00_00_10-00002 [CR] Log Horizon - 01 [1280x720].mkv-00_00_11-00003 [CR] Log Horizon - 01 [1280x720].mkv-00_05_31-00015
[CR] Log Horizon - 01 [1280x720].mkv-00_12_42-00026 [CR] Log Horizon - 01 [1280x720].mkv-00_15_56-00032 [CR] Log Horizon - 01 [1280x720].mkv-00_21_49-00037

Strike The Blood

This show doesn’t leave me much to talk about. A super strong vampire, who doesn’t understand what he is, is being stalked by a middle school girl sent to monitor, and possible kill, him. There are amateurish hijinks, a few panty shots, and some ok action. This show is hard for me, because I want to like it. But It’s just going to be too much for me. I can already picture our two lead characters teaming up to fight against the dark forces present on their island. And when the going get’s tough, he sucks her blood to power up and save the day. A lot like Qwasar, except its blood instead of breast milk.

With the limited time I’ll get to watch shows this fall, I’ll have to drop this one early. I don’t see any redeeming qualities after this first episode; at least nothing to keep me interested from here on out. But, if you like a little bit of underage fanservice, dig the vampire vibe, and want some fantasy action on the side, this show is for you.

[HorribleSubs] Strike the Blood - 01 [720p].mkv-00_02_20-00013 [HorribleSubs] Strike the Blood - 01 [720p].mkv-00_01_48-00010 [HorribleSubs] Strike the Blood - 01 [720p].mkv-00_19_34-00045
[HorribleSubs] Strike the Blood - 01 [720p].mkv-00_09_45-00032 [HorribleSubs] Strike the Blood - 01 [720p].mkv-00_08_18-00030 [HorribleSubs] Strike the Blood - 01 [720p].mkv-00_09_49-00033

5 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts–Log Horizon and Strike the Blood

  1. donkangoljones

    I’m with you on not having enough time to waste on what may be clearly mediocre anime. I’ve taken peeks at both shows, and I just don’t feel inspired enough to continue either of these. I caught the comparison to Qwaser, too with Strike the blood by the way. And I HATE that show. That doomed Strike the Blood from the start. Horizon too seemed a tad to bland and familiar. Though I hope I’m wrong about either show. More good anime is a good problem to have.

    Reply
    1. JoeAnimated Post author

      This season has left me with so much good stuff to watch, I’m not even going to spend the time to watch the mediocre. These two might have been on the list years ago, but now they’re just afterthoughts.

      Reply
    1. JoeAnimated Post author

      It could be, but this first episode left something to be desired. They’re going to have to play up the team dynamic more, drop some tired cliches, and give the characters some substance.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

