The Not So Verdurous Planet – Suisei no Gargantia Episode 1

Suisei no Gargantia 01 Title Screen

With as busy as work has been, I’ve had to put off writing about the spring season for the last week. And this week especially, with crappy hotel Internet, I didn’t think I would get the chance to see this show. But, the help of a coworkers portable 4G hotspot, I managed to get a 480p hard-subbed version of Gargantia. And quite honestly, it was more than enough for my first impressions of this show.

Since I’m late to game on this, I’ll just jump through my thoughts quickly, since quite honestly, this episode was a great setup, teasing and tantalizing, and leaving me wondering where it’s going to go.

– I know you have to start somewhere, but the mankind against an unstoppable foe angle, to be quite honest, has been overdone, and ridden to the grave on a skeleton horse. I kind of wish this could have been a little more original, but it is a Sci-fi Mecha show, so it fits.

– That said, the early half of the episode with the advanced civilization was very interesting. The society reminds me a little of the movie Starship Troopers. To be a citizen, you must serve. While this situation seems a little more extreme, somewhere along the lines of him probably being a test tube baby. There society is probably split between those who serve, and those reap the value.

– At least some of their science behind Black Holes is correct. It is a distortion in Space-Time, so the possibility of him traveling through time, to another location, is plausible. But again, how convenient it was that he ended up on Earth.

– I love the contrast of colors between the more technically advanced society, their enemy, and the humans on Earth. The sterile blacks and white in contrast with the colorful, animalistic looking enemy and the brighter colors of the Earth humans.

-What are the “treasures” these salvagers keep digging up? Is it stuff from Earth’s past? Is it more stuff that ended up here from the black hole jump?

– I’m really curious where and when we’ll find the Verdurous in this planet.

– What I’m not interested in is some love/hate cliché relationship between Ledo and Amy. But I know it’s going to happen. And that damn flying squirrel. Seriously?

So, what were your thoughts?

Suisei no Gargantia 01 On Earth

6 thoughts on “The Not So Verdurous Planet – Suisei no Gargantia Episode 1

  1. foshizzel

    I loved the first episode of Gargantia especially the top tier CGI and I know plenty of people that always give anime CGI a hard time including myself, but compared to the likes of something like Majestic prince I think Gargantia is doing alright in that department. Did you know the character designer does a lot of hentai manga? I was surprised WHAT? When Jrow told me about that ahahah and I guess that means “most” of the girls will eventually be used as fanservice.

    As for the story yeah I think we are dealing with time travel elements thanks to the wormhole and fact that Red or Ledo is confused about earth! I assume earth is just a legend in his time, but I have heard several mixed feelings about the whole idea of “time travel” I remember one someone said maybe the humans left earth because it was falling apart and returned at a later time? I don’t feel that way; however episode two expands on the earth side

    Speaking of Chamber! I love that he is voiced by Sugita Tomokazu because I like his voice work in the 2nd half of JOJO and of course Gintoki in Gintama and of course I can’t forget that we have Hisako Kanemoto as Amy who I feel honestly did a fantastic job as Kotoura-san last season! So there was a part in the second episode where Chamber is chatting with Amy and suddenly my brain was like “this is just like Jojo having a conversation with Kotoura!” I always find myself doing that…I guess certain voice actors will always be attached to certain characters xD

    Now we have to wait a few more days or hours for the final mecha series of spring with Valvrave! I hope it is better than the failure of lame ass Majestic Prince, but I plan on continuing with Prince…maybe…

    Reply
    1. Jeroz

      Hanaharu also did the character design for Kamichu, and I don’t remember much fanservice in the limited exposure I had on that series.

      Reply
    2. JoeAnimated Post author

      Since you brought up episdoe 2, i went and watched it. Some of my comments don’t hold up, and that’s. Things definitly get more interesting.

      I think that hentai artists do a much better job of drawing human forms, than a lot of other artists. One of my favorite manga right now has a hentai artist doing all the visuals, and they’re great. And, you know they’re great at drawing liquids 😉

      Time Travel and Waterworld all mixed in. After watching the second episode, I’m less set on travel, and more on just being dumped here by a bad space jump. Which begs the question, if he didn’t swap time lines, they will the people from his space colony hear his beacon and come find him?

      Of the remaining two, I think I’ll like Valvrave more than Majestic Prince. The post credits on Valvrave left me going “WTF”, and MP is more like a sentai show than anything, and I’m not huge on those. But who knows.

      Reply
  2. megaroad1

    Loved the colour palette used. i thought that visually, it’s one of the best things I’ve seen (for a TV series) and the premise, while not very original, could still lead to an interesting story down the line. I have faith in Urobuchi’s writing. He’s yet to pen a script I don’t enjoy at some level.

    Reply
    1. JoeAnimated Post author

      Urobuchi does put together a pretty good story. And in this sotry line, there’s a lot he can do with it. I have high hopes for this series, so here’s to hoping they doing something great with it.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Worlds Apart – Suisei no Gargantia Episode 2 | Anime Audiolog

Leave a Reply

