Weekend Reading – Shokugeki no Soma

Shokugeki No Soma Full

by Azeriraz and JoeAnimated

This week, we’re bringing you a great new manga recently released in Shonen Jump. While SJ maybe more known for long running titles like Bleach, Naruto, and One Piece, it has been recently bringing us gems like Nisekoi, and today’s title Shokugeki no Soma. What about this manga has us excited? Come read our recommendation!

JA:The story follows our main character, Yukihira Souma. Yukihira Souma’s dream is to take over his father’s special of the day restaurant and surpass his father’s culinary skill. But just as Yukihira graduates from middle schools his father, Yukihira Jouichirou, closes down the restaurant to cook in Europe with an old friend. Although downtrodden, Souma’s fighting spirit is rekindled by a challenge from Jouichirou which is to survive in an elite culinary school where only 10% of the students graduate.

Az: I initially had very little expectations for this manga.  A lot of that has to do with some comments about it being the new obligatory ecchi manga in Jump’s line-up.  In fact, it didn’t help that the artist was a hentai illustrator, further lowering expectations.  Being the Shonen Jump reader I am, I gave this series a shot like I do for all other series.  In short: one of the best decisions I made last year.

Shokugeki no Soma Meat Student

The best way to describe it would be to read Bakuman chapter 141; a non-mainstream yet mainstream battle manga.  Let’s face it, if the battle were with fists and not cooking, this would join the ranks of Sekirei or any series with a harem of buxom beauties duking it out.  Instead, we have glorious use of ecchi to display Soma’s cooking ability as he brings his tasters to orgasm.  It’s so bizarre but incredibly entertaining at the same time.  On a final note, I’m taking credit for turning many bloggers onto this one – my claim to fame.

Shokugeki no Soma Top Student Foodgasm

JA: When I was first lead to this by Azerirz, I was a bit skeptical. But by the time I finished the first 5 chapters, I was hooked. While it follows a battle manga type format, the backdrop of a cooking school, with the “tasting conquest” pictures, gives it a whole new meaning. And honestly, who doesn’t like looking at gourmet food?

Shokugeki no Soma Student Teacher Foodgasm

4 thoughts on “Weekend Reading – Shokugeki no Soma

    1. JoeAnimated

      It’s great. Like Az says, the concept is straight out of Bakuman. It’s a combat manga without the combat. And in that moment of victory, the true talent of the hentai artist shines forth.

      Reply
  1. Yerocha

    I think my first reaction was similar to that of Az, where I didn’t read at first for reasons that I quickly forgot once I started. I think I just assumed it was one of those manga that wouldn’t last very long, but I do hope it stays around for a while.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

