Looking Back at the Top Mecha Shows of 2012

Aquarion-EVOL-Gundam-AGE-Muv-Luv-Tot[1]

As we continue our review of the anime of 2012, we take a look at the biggest mecha shows of the year. 2012 brought us Aquarion EVOL, Gundam AGE, Muv Luv Total Eclipse, and Eureka Seven Astral Ocean Posts. I’m joined by Ray of Ideas Without End as we look look back in hindsight at these shows and how good, or bad, they were.

Ray brings a huge database of knowledge about the different mecha franchises, past and present. I hope you guys learn as much from him as I did in this podcast. As always, you can stream the podcast here, or download it using the link below.

Download The Podcast Post

4 thoughts on “Looking Back at the Top Mecha Shows of 2012

  1. foshizzel

    Gundam Age: I really hated the character designs at the start, but it is a great starter Gundam series for anyone wanting to get into it without having to go waaaayyyy back to the start of Gundam! I didn’t like the first age or third age because I just did not care about Kio at all…he was a bit like Kira from Seed/Destiny in terms of “we shouldn’t be fighting” blaw blaw blaw.

    Aquarion EVOL: Loooveeee this seriesssss! Yeah I agree EVOL only had like 4-5 characters that I actually liked…the main couple was so damn boring I rather have Andy as the main vs Amata or Mikono! Over the top fun indeed .> yeah I had fun even though it wasn’t mind blowing…

    Oh and Robotic;Notes! Just kidding I can’t really call it “Mecha” because it is only about building one, but who knows with episodes 12 – 22 might actually have a real robot walking around…

    April has three mecha series coming out with Suisei no Gargantia, Valvrave The Liberator and Ginga Kikoutai Majestic Prince…but that last one is Gundam Seed character designs which I freaking haateeeeee so damn much! They are terrible and check out the trailer you will face-palm so hard.

    Reply
    1. JoeAnimated Post author

      G AGE – By the third AGE, the show had really slipped from what made it special. A shame really. EVOL was so ridiculous it was great. I was amazed at how many different people liked it. I’ll have to look into the three series you’ve mentioned. I haven’t had the time to look too far ahead, so thanks for checking up on that!

      Reply
  2. megaroad1

    Good podcast guys. Nice that you had Ray over as a guest blogger.

    I haven’t watched EVOL because I disliked the original Aquarion (ok the Gattai thing was funny) but I’ve read a couple of good things about by now so I’ll check it out.

    E7 Ao was a dissappointment. It was poorly scripted and didn’t really have a clear direction and I agree with you guys: Eureka Seven really didn’t need a sequel. Leave it alone Bones.

    I actually must have been one of the few souls who actually went on to finish Muv Luv. Here’s another example of a series that didn’t know what it wanted to be. If it had stuck on the “team developing a cutting edge mecha in time of war” it would have been much better. But all the strange geopolitics and the distracting harem dynamic made it madly inconsistent. And the whole xenophobia angle was poorly developed and portrayed in a very simplistic manner. I doubt they’ll get a sequel.

    It seems that mecha as a genre is slowly petering out. Only one mecha show this season. Have my hopes up for Gargantia come April though.

    Reply
    1. JoeAnimated Post author

      Ray, like yourself and others, have such a huge database of knowledge that I can sit and listen and almost have nothing to say. It’s like going to school for anime mecha history. EVOL, while being a sequel, was so much better. It took the was was good (and ridiculous), and ran with it. Most people comment that the show really hits it’s stride after a few episodes, so don’t give up too early. You know my thoughts on E7, what a waste. I did finish Muv Luv, but as you pointed out, so many failings on so many levels. I don’t know if mecha is petering out, or if it needs a revival; fresh characters, new plot angles, etc…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

