Fall Season 2012 Shows to Watch With Your Kids

Kid Shows Fall 2012

I watch quite a bit of anime with my kids, especially with my 5-year-old daughter. She’s always looking for me to find something new and fun for her to watch. In the past, we’ve watched Bunny Drop, AKB48, and other, probably less suitable, shows. As a new segment on AAB, I’ll share a couple shows at the beginning of each season that I think would be a god choice to watch with your kids. And this season I have Aikatsu! and Chou Soku Henkei Gyrozetter.

Aikatsu!

Aikatsu

Aikatsu!, which is short for Aidoru Katsudo! (Idol Activities!), is a collectible card game by Bandai. The game revolves around using collectible cards featuring various clothes to help aspiring idols pass auditions. The anime story centers around a girl named Ichigo Hoshimiya. Ichigo starts out as an ordinary middle school girl. But when her best friend, Aoi Kiriya,  and brother take her to a concert of the premier idol, Her, and her future, are forever changed. She and her best friend then enroll in the Starlight Academy for developing idols. These idols utilize the Aikatsu system, in which idols select clothes to wear for their auditions using combinations of cards.

For my daughters, this story has it all. Singing, dancing, and silly antics. It is very reminiscent of the Barbie cartoons that they watch on a regular basis. The plot is very clear-cut. The underlying story, of trying your best and working hard toward your goals, sends a positive message that fits the crowd it’s trying to reach. And to that point, you wont find any panty shots, naked bath scenes, or other questionable content. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with kids 8 and under, especially young girls.

Chou Soku Henkei Gyrozetter

Super High-Speed Transforming Gyrozetter

Gyrozetter  (Super High-Speed Transforming Gyrozetter) is another adaptation of a Japanese card game by Square Enix. In the near future, artificial intelligence (AI) cars have revolutionized the car industry with their increased safety. Special schools have been set up to train children to drive the AI cars. Fifth grader Kakeru Todoroki was summoned by the school principal and given an A.I. car “to save the humanity by chosen drivers like you.” The car, however, is not just a car but also a transforming robot known as “Gyrozetter.”

Night Rider meets Transformers meets Gundam. It the kind of show your kids probably watch on Saturday morning cartoons now. Cool cars, lots of action, and the main character, Kakeru, has an onerous streak that lends itself to some humorous situations. The show has a classic “Good vs. Evil” story line, with the typical shonen power-up cycle. While this  will be cliché for older viewers, younger ones wont mind a bit. As this is a fighting based show, there is animated violence between robots, so for those parents looking for a more peaceful show, this isn’t it. That being said, it’s no worse than any other cartoon widely available on TV or Netflix.  This show is an overall good choice for the kids in your house.

6 thoughts on “Fall Season 2012 Shows to Watch With Your Kids

  1. foshizzel

    I tried to give Aikatsu! a field test, but damn it was soooooooo boring! Then again it is for kids and nothing like AKB0048 or near the IdolM@ster, but I can see younger children enjoying it for the bright colors and fun music.

    I haven’t even tried Chou Soku Henkei Gyrozetter yet but it looks kind of interesting and truth be told I do end up watching shows like Bablade and some new one with cards and RC cars? Yeah I have no idea! There are a lot of clones of those types of shows on Cartoon Network in the morning…

    Hmmmm fall season seems to be quite rough for “kid friendly shows” I was going to say Code:Breaker or Tempest, but those two have a lot to do with killing and what not…maybe Little Busters, but that has a lot of girls running around or Robotic;Notes? Which is also a bit wordy at times and SLOWWWWW..

    I am shocked you didn’t get your kids hooked on Smile Precure, but of course you have to watch with them which might make you bored or dislike it xD

    Reply
    1. JoeAnimated Post author

      Yeah, Aikatsu mimics the terrible barbie movies my girls have, even the bad CG. And you’re spot on. Gyrozetter is the a CN morning lineup show. I wouldn’t be surprised to see it here sometime soon.

      As for precure, I haven’t even tried it yet. Those are big series, and I just have made the time to go through it with them. Someday…

      Reply
  2. Cholisose

    If you haven’t yet, I would be sure to check out Kuromajo-san ga Touru, which is a continuing show this season. The episodes are 8-10 or so minutes long, but the stories are fun and cute. It has a young girl protagonist learning magic–she’s friendly and thankfully doesn’t have attitude issues like you see all the time in Western cartoons. I think it’s a good show for children, and Gyuubid-sama (the witch who teaches the main character) is surprisingly hilarious.

    Reply
    1. JoeAnimated Post author

      I will download a few and check it out. I had only listed shows that were new this season to keep it simple. My kids still enjoy Poyopoyo and HxH (which I also enjoy ;). Watching shows with them doesn’t make me feel as old.

      Reply
      1. Cholisose

        Ah, I need to try out Poyo Poyo some time. The art style looks fun, at least.
        I think it’s nice to watch something for a younger audience every now and then. I’m always meaning to finish the rest of CardCaptor Sakura, at least.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

